Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Home > People


The Department Chair, Associate Chair, Director of Undergraduate Studies and Director of Graduate Studies.

Kenneth T. Christensen, Department Chair

K. ChristensenKenneth T. Christensen is the Viola D. Hank Professor at the University of Notre Dame, with a joint appointment in the Departments of Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering and Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences.  He also presently serves as the Department Chair of Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering and as a Provost's Fellow at Notre Dame.  Prior to August 2014 he was a Professor, Kritzer Faculty Scholar and Associate Head for Undergraduate and Mechanics Programs in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, with Affiliate appointments in Aerospace Engineering and Geology.  He received his B. S. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of New Mexico in 1995, an M. S. in Mechanical Engineering from Caltech in 1996 and a Ph. D. in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics from the University of Illinois in 2001. 

365A Fitzpatrick Hall of Engineering
Phone: 574-631-2510



Associate Department Chair

James P. Schmiedeler
365B Fitzpatrick Hall
Phone:  574-631-6403


Director of Undergraduate Studies

Bill Goodwine
376 Fitzpatrick Hall
Phone:  574-631-3283


Director of Graduate Studies

David B. Go
140G McCourtney Hall
Phone:  574-631-8394