Two staff members from Notre Dame Engineering honored with 2024 Presidential Awards

Michelle Murray and Kassie Spencer

The University of Notre Dame annually recognizes staff members who exemplify the University’s core values of accountability, teamwork, integrity, and leadership, as well as those who make exceptional contributions. This year, two individuals from the College of Engineering were among the 13 recipients of the University’s Presidential awards.

Michelle Murray, seminar and events coordinator for the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, received a Presidential Achievement Award for advancing Notre Dame’s mission in the past calendar year through a significant achievement.  

Murray has made significant contributions to the recruitment of doctoral students. She has improved the visiting day for prospective Ph.D. students by organizing a poster session and mixer. She has enhanced the use of social media and email campaigns to prospective students and developed targeted messages with videos and key information to highlight departmental programming.

Kassie Spencer, senior director of finance and administration in the College of Engineering, received a Presidential Leadership Award, which recognizes a staff supervisor who demonstrates the principles of servant leadership.

Spencer has had an extraordinarily positive influence on the growth and well-being of the College community. By putting the needs of others first, she has ensured that all members of the College develop and excel in their various roles. She has implemented initiatives, including staff appreciation days, staff excellence awards, a Staff Engagement and Culture Committee and annual financial reviews with each department that have fostered a welcoming and inclusive community where everyone can thrive and contribute.  

Congratulations to Michelle and Kassie!

— Karla Cruise, Notre Dame Engineering