Home > News


Out of This World - Dava Newman’s meteoric rise from Notre Dame to NASA

Dava Newman (Photos by Douglas Sonders)

Hanging by the door in Dava Newman’s office at NASA is the framed image of a boot print on Mars. Newman sees the orange-red imprint every morning when she arrives and every night when she leaves. It is a kind of icon, a symbol and a reminder, of her professional mission.

>Full Story


Associate Professor James Schmiedeler,

James Schmiedeler, associate professor of aerospace and mechanical engineering at the University of Notre Dame, builds and conducts research with biped robots. He’s quick to point out that physical therapy experience is conspicuously absent from his CV, but as an engineer, he sees parallels.

>Full Story

Blue-sky Biomedical Projects Launched by New Funding

nwelding • Date: August 30, 2016

Advanced Diagnostics & Therapeutics (AD&T), a strategic research initiative at the University of Notre Dame, has announced the recipients of its Discovery Fund awards for 2016. Innovative research includes efforts to treat Parkinson’s disease, understand heart disease and strokes, tackle bacterial drug resistance.

>Full Story

In Memoriam: Joseph C. Hogan, Dean Emeritus of College of Engineering

nwelding • Date: August 24, 2016

Joseph C. Hogan, dean emeritus of the University of Notre Dame’s College of Engineering, died Thursday (Aug. 18) at Friendship Village in Tempe, Arizona. He was 94.

>Full Story

Two Students Named Gilman Scholars

nwelding • Date: July 27, 2016

Mechanical engineering student Gabriel Higuera one of two students selected as Gilman Scholars.

>Full Story